Frazier is named "National Blue Ribbon School"
Posted On:
Friday, September 16, 2011
News Image

Dayton School 1 of 6 'Blue Ribbon' Schools in Tenn.

2011-09-15 09:58:53

The U.S. Department of Education today named six schools in Tennessee, including Frazier Elementary in Dayton, Tenn., as 2011 National Blue Ribbon Schools. These public and private K-12 schools are among the 305 being honored for their overall academic excellence or for their success in closing achievement gaps.

"America's long-term economic prosperity and civic engagement depends on our children receiving a world-class education," said U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan. "National Blue Ribbon Schools are committed to accelerating student achievement and preparing students for success in college and careers. Their success is an example for others to follow."

The National Blue Ribbon Schools award honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools where students achieve at high levels or where the achievement gap is narrowing. Since 1982, more than 6,500 of America's schools have received this coveted award.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program, honors public and private schools based on one of two criteria:

1) Schools whose students are high performing. These are schools ranked among each state's highest performing schools as measured by their performance on state assessments or, in the case of private schools, that score at the highest performance level on nationally-normed tests; or

2) Schools with at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds that improve student performance to high levels as measured by the school's performance on state assessments or nationally-normed tests.

Before selecting National Blue Ribbon Schools, the Department asks for nominations from the top education official in every state, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico, the Department of Defense Education Activity and the Bureau of Indian Education. The Council for American Private Education (CAPE) nominates private schools. A total of 413 schools nationwide are nominated, based on the number of K-12 students and the number of schools in each jurisdiction. The schools are invited by the Secretary of Education to submit an application for possible recognition as a National Blue Ribbon School.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools will be honored at a conference and awards ceremony in Washington, D.C., Nov. 14-15.

The winners from Tennessee are:

Fairmont Elementary School - Johnson City, TN, Principal: Mrs. Carol McGill

Frazier Elementary School - Dayton, TN, Principal: Mrs. Gayle Kelly

Fred J. Page High School - Franklin, TN, Principal: Dr. Andrea Anthony

Hume-Fogg Magnet High School - Nashville, TN, Principal: Dr. Paul Fleming

Morriston West High School - Morristown, TN, Principal: Dr. Jeff Moorhouse

South Greene High School - Greeneville, TN, Principal: Ms. Cindy Bowman

© Copyright 2011 Freedom Communications. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | User Agreement | Site Map

View all Latest News